About “Writing Down the Bones”

 ” When you are not writing, you are a writer too. It doesn’t leave you. Walk with an animal walk and take in everything around you as prey. “

or you can walk “…out in the street with everything you are, including your common sense or Buddha nature…

quote

When we need to learn to practice something to achieve our goals, it’s obvious to say that we just need to start it, but perhaps the beginning is the most important step. What I read in the last days was about practice”. It was a slow read because the different experiences written about by the author in short chapters  allowed me to read other things in the meantime. Furthermore, the simplicity of the chapters and the delicate humour made me want to continue and even turn back the pages to reread some extracts. In my difficulty of writing the details that my mind is thinking, I noticed a more natural way of practising that was super interesting. Contrary to the author, Natalie Goldberg, I can not be so true when I’m focused on describing what’s on the leaves of my mind because it is like a wardrobe full of mixed leaves. That’s why the book was of great value to me. There’re different ways we put into practice the writing of what our minds are offering. We just need to start.

Quando nós precisamos aprender a praticar alguma coisa para atingir os nossos objetivos, é tão óbvio dizer que nós precisamos apenas começar, mas talvez o começo seja o passo mais importante.  Foi sobre “prática” que eu li nos últimos dias. Foi uma leitura lenta porque as diferentes experiências que estavam nos curtos capítulos contados pela autora me permitiram ler outras coisas. Além disso, a simplicidade dos capítulos escritos e o delicado humor me fizeram querer continuar e até mesmo voltar as páginas para reler algumas curtas passagens. Em minha dificuldade de estar escrevendo os detalhes que a minha mente está pensando, enxergar um jeito mais natural de praticar isso foi super interessante. Diferente da autora, Natalie Goldberg, eu não consigo ser tão verdadeira quando estou voltada para descrever o que há nas folhas da minha mente porque ela é como um guarda-roupa cheio de papéis misturados. Foi por isso que o livro teve um grande valor para mim. Há diferentes maneiras de nós colocarmos em prática a escrita que a nossa mente está oferecendo. Nós precisamos apenas comecar.

 

Leave a Reply

